✳ GrantAtlasSign in ↗
← All opportunities

forecasted

Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program

Health Resources and Services Administration · HRSA-27-016

Award range

$32,000 – $28,000,000

Deadline

Not specified

Eligible applicants

Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Geographic eligibility and all attachment-specific conditions require review of the original announcement.

Eligibility details

​​Currently Eligible Hospitals​Includes freestanding children"s hospitals that meet the original eligibility requirements for CHGME payments, as described in the CHGME Federal Register published on March 1, 2001 (66 FRN 12940), established prior to the Children"s Hospital GME Support Reauthorization Act of 2013. A children"s teaching hospital is considered "freestanding" if it does not operate under a Medicare hospital provider number assigned to a larger health care entity that receives Medicare GME payments. These freestanding children"s hospitals must meet all the following criteria: Have a Medicare payment agreement.Are excluded from the Medicare Inpatient Prospective Payment System (IPPS) pursuant to section 1886(d)(1)(B)(iii) of the Social Security Act (SSA) and its accompanying regulations. The exclusion of children"s hospitals from IPPS set forth under section 1886(d)(1)(B)(iii) of the SSA states this exclusion exists for hospitals whose inpatients are predominantly individuals under 18 years of age.Participate in an approved GME residency training program as defined in section 1886(h)(5)(A) of the SSA. It is a "freestanding" children's hospital. ​Newly Qualified Hospitals​As per the Children"s Hospital GME Support Reauthorization Act of 2013, a freestanding hospital may be eligible for CHGME payments depending on the level of funding appropriated to the program if it meets all the following criteria: Has a Medicare payment agreement.Is excluded from Medicare IPPS pursuant to section 1886(d)(1)(B) of the SSA and its accompanying regulations.Its inpatients are predominantly people under 18 years of age.Has an approved medical residency training program as defined in section 1886(h)(5)(A) of the SSA.Is not otherwise qualified to receive payments under 42 U.S.C. § 256e or section 1886(h) of the SSA as a Currently Eligible Hospital. ​For those freestanding children"s hospitals that met the above requirements for Newly Qualified Hospitals as of April 7, 2014, and the Secretary had not previously determined an average number of full-time equivalent (FTE) residents under section 1886(h)(4) of the SSA, the Secretary may establish such number of FTE residents for the purposes of calculating CHGME Payment Program payments.

Matching funds & resources

Source matching-funds field: Not Required.

Matching funds and leveraged resources are different requirements. Read the description and reviewed rules below before determining resource commitments.

About this opportunity

The Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program funds freestanding, children's hospitals. The money helps their graduate medical education (GME) programs train resident physicians and dentists.

Funding geography: Not specified — review source. A funder’s address does not establish eligibility.

Review original source ↗

Funding instrument: Grant. Issuing jurisdiction: Federal. This is not a geographic eligibility determination.

Source fields and evidence

id: 363113
Source ↗ · id

opportunityNumber: HRSA-27-016
Source ↗ · opportunityNumber

opportunityTitle: Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program
Source ↗ · opportunityTitle

revision: 4
Source ↗ · revision

agencyDetails: {"code":"HRSA","seed":"HHS-HRSA","agencyName":"Health Resources and Services Administration","agencyCode":"HHS-HRSA","topAgencyCode":"HHS"}
Source ↗ · agencyDetails

owningAgencyCode: HHS-HRSA
Source ↗ · owningAgencyCode

cfdas: [{"id":434485,"opportunityId":363113,"cfdaNumber":"93.255","programTitle":"Children's Hospitals Graduate Medical Education Payment Program"}]
Source ↗ · cfdas

forecastDesc: <p><span style="background-color:white;">The Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program funds freestanding, children's hospitals. The money helps their graduate medical education (GME) programs train resident physicians and dentists.</span></p>
Source ↗ · forecastDesc

applicantTypes: [{"id":"25","description":"Others (see text field entitled \"Additional Information on Eligibility\" for clarification)"}]
Source ↗ · applicantTypes

applicantEligibilityDesc: &#8203;&#8203;Currently Eligible Hospitals&#8203;Includes freestanding children&quot;s hospitals that meet the original eligibility requirements for CHGME payments, as described in the CHGME Federal Register published on March 1, 2001 (66 FRN 12940), established prior to the Children&quot;s Hospital GME Support Reauthorization Act of 2013. A children&quot;s teaching hospital is considered &quot;freestanding&quot; if it does not operate under a Medicare hospital provider number assigned to a larger health care entity that receives Medicare GME payments. These freestanding children&quot;s hospitals must meet all the following criteria: Have a Medicare payment agreement.Are excluded from the Medicare Inpatient Prospective Payment System (IPPS) pursuant to section 1886(d)(1)(B)(iii) of the Social Security Act (SSA) and its accompanying regulations. The exclusion of children&quot;s hospitals from IPPS set forth under section 1886(d)(1)(B)(iii) of the SSA states this exclusion exists for hospitals whose inpatients are predominantly individuals under 18 years of age.Participate in an approved GME residency training program as defined in section 1886(h)(5)(A) of the SSA. It is a &quot;freestanding&quot; children's hospital. &#8203;Newly Qualified Hospitals&#8203;As per the Children&quot;s Hospital GME Support Reauthorization Act of 2013, a freestanding hospital may be eligible for CHGME payments depending on the level of funding appropriated to the program if it meets all the following criteria: Has a Medicare payment agreement.Is excluded from Medicare IPPS pursuant to section 1886(d)(1)(B) of the SSA and its accompanying regulations.Its inpatients are predominantly people under 18 years of age.Has an approved medical residency training program as defined in section 1886(h)(5)(A) of the SSA.Is not otherwise qualified to receive payments under 42 U.S.C. &sect; 256e or section 1886(h) of the SSA as a Currently Eligible Hospital. &#8203;For those freestanding children&quot;s hospitals that met the above requirements for Newly Qualified Hospitals as of April 7, 2014, and the Secretary had not previously determined an average number of full-time equivalent (FTE) residents under section 1886(h)(4) of the SSA, the Secretary may establish such number of FTE residents for the purposes of calculating CHGME Payment Program payments.
Source ↗ · applicantEligibilityDesc

fundingInstruments: [{"id":"G","description":"Grant"}]
Source ↗ · fundingInstruments

fundingActivityCategories: [{"id":"HL","description":"Health"}]
Source ↗ · fundingActivityCategories

awardFloor: 32000
Source ↗ · awardFloor

awardCeiling: 28000000
Source ↗ · awardCeiling

costSharing: false
Source ↗ · costSharing

lastUpdatedDate: Sep 11, 2026 03:39:25 PM EDT
Source ↗ · lastUpdatedDate

status: forecasted
Source ↗ · oppHits[id=363113].oppStatus

Source retrieved 10/16/2026 · Revision 4. Always confirm current requirements and dates with the funder. Structured source fields are checked; this is not a determination that every applicant qualifies.

Build your funding pipeline.

Save opportunities, filter by fit, and export your deadlines with membership.

View plans from $49/month ↗